The Requirements for Additional Strength Biowaivers for Immediate Release Solid Oral Dosage Forms in International Pharmaceutical Regulators Programme Participating Regulators and Organisations: Differences and Commonalities

Publication: J Pharm Pharm Sci
Division: PBPK


In relation to the registration of generic products, waivers of in vivo bioequivalence studies (biowaivers) are considered in three main cases: certain dosage forms for which bioequivalence is self-evident (e.g. intravenous solutions), biowaivers based on the Biopharmaceutics Classification System and biowaivers for additional strengths with respect to the strength for which in vivo bioequivalence has been shown. The objective of this article is to describe the differences and commonalities in biowaivers for additional strengths of immediate release solid oral dosage forms between the participating members of the International Pharmaceutical Regulators Program (IPRP). The requirements are based on five main aspects; the pharmacokinetics of the drug substance, the manufacturing process, the qualitative and quantitative composition of the different strengths, and the comparative dissolution profiles. For the pharmacokinetic aspects, many regulators/agencies have the same requirements. All strengths must be manufactured with the same process, although a few regulators/agencies accept small differences. In relation to the formulation aspects, the data required breaks down into three major approaches based initially on one of those of the EU, the USA or Japan, but there are some differences in these three major approaches with some country specific interpretations. Most regulators/agencies also have the same requirements for the dissolution data, though there are some notable exceptions.

By Christopher Crane, Gustavo Mendes Lima Santos, Eduardo Agostinho Freitas Fernandes, Craig Simon, Andrew Tam, Diego Gutierrez Triana, Henrike Potthast, Ryosuke Kuribayashi, Yusuke Okada, Aya Myoenzono, Ivan Omar Calderon, Zulema Rodriguez, Ben Jones, Sang Aeh Park, So Young Eum, Clare Rodrigues, Joy Van Oudsthoorn, Arno Nolting, Chantal Walther, Matthias S Roost, Wen-Yi Hung, April C Braddy, & Alfredo Garcia-Arieta